Saturday, April 4, 2009

Tribe Offseason and Opening Day

A finalization to my original Indians Offseason post. Opening Day is Monday @ Texas at 2:05 PM. Cliff Lee vs. Kevin Millwood

Cleveland Indians 2009 Offseason

Free Agents

IF Jamey Carroll (club option for ’09) option exercised
RP Brendan Donnelly (filed for free agency) signed by Texas
C Sal Fasano (filed for free agency) signed by Colorado
RP Scott Elarton (filed for free agency) un-signed
RP Juan Rincon (filed for free agency) signed by Detroit

Minor League Free Agents

OF Brad Snyder, placed on waivers, claimed by Chicago Cubs
RP Reid Santos, placed on waivers, claimed by Toronto
IF Andy Gonzalez, signed to minor league deal by Florida
P Bryan Bullington, signed by Toronto
P Brian Slocum, signed by Pittsburgh
OF Ryan Goleski, released


OF Franklin Gutierrez traded to Seattle for RP Joe Smith and IF Luis Valbuena
IF Mark DeRosa acquired from Chicago Cubs for Ps Jeff Stevens, Chris Archer and John Gaub
OF Mickey Hall acquired from Boston to complete Paul Byrd trade
IF Isaias Velasquz traded to Tampa Bay for RP Juan Salas
RP Shawn Nottingham traded to Pittsburgh for PTBNL
RP Edward Mujica traded to San Diego for PTBNL


RP Kerry Wood (signed to 2-year deal)
SP Carl Pavano (signed to 1-year deal)

RP Greg Aquino (non-roster invitee)
C Damaso Espino (non-roster invitee)
IF Andy Cannizaro (non-roster invitee)
P Tomo Ohka (non-roster invitee)
IF Jesus Merchan (non-roster invitee)
IF Wilson Valdez (non-roster invitee)
P Kirk Sarloos (non-roster invitee)
RP Vinnie Chulk (non-roster invitee)
RP Matt Herges (non-roster invitee)
P Jack Cassell (non-roster invitee)

RP Joe Smith (trade from SEA)
IF Luis Valbuena (trade from SEA)
IF Mark DeRosa (trade from CHI)
OF Mickey Hall (trade from BOS)
RP Juan Salas (trade from TB)
IF Andy Marte (assigned to AAA)
IF Tony Graffaninio (non-roster invitee)
RP Jae Kuk Ryu (claimed, sent to AAA)
Played to be named (trade from PIT)
RP Juan Lara (signed to minor league deal)


OF Brad Snyder (claimed by CHC)
RP Reid Santos (claimed by TOR)
IF Andy Gonzalez (signed by FLA)
P Bryan Bullington (signed by TOR)
P Brian Slocum (signed by PIT)
RP Tom Mastny (sold to Japan team)
OF Franklin Gutierrez (traded to SEA)
P Jeff Stevens (traded to CHIC)
P Chris Archer (traded to CHIC)
P John Gaub (traded to CHIC)
OF Ryan Goleski (released)
RP Brendan Donnelly (signed by TEX)
C Sal Fasano (signed by COL)
RP Juan Rincon (signed by DET)
IF Isaias Velasquez (traded to TB)
RP Shawn Nottingham (traded to PIT)
RP Edward Mujica (traded to SD)
RP Jae Kuk Ryu (sent back to SD, transaction voided)

Non-Roster Invitees


Greg Aquino
Tomo Ohka
Kirk Sarloos
Dave Huff
Ryan Edell
Vinnie Chulk
Matt Herges
Jack Cassell


Damaso Espino


Andy Cannizaro
Jesus Merchan
Wilson Valdez
Michael Aubrey
Stephen Head
Beau Mills
Jordan Brown
Wes Hodges


Michael Brantley
Matt Laporta

Signed to 1-Year Contracts for Season:

IF Josh Barfield
OF Shin-Soo Choo
SP Aaron Laffey
RP Jon Meloan
P Adam Miller
SP Anthony Reyes
RP Tony Sipp
SP Jeremy Sowers
C Wyatt Toregas

Reassigned to Minor League Camp:

P Ryan Edell
P Tomo Ohka
RP Rich Rundles (AAA)
RP John Meloan (AAA)
P Adam Miller (AAA)
P Hector Rondon (AA)
RP Tony Sipp (AAA)
2B Luis Valbuena (AAA)
C Carlos Santana (AA)
P Jack Cassel
SP David Huff
C Armando Camacaro
1B Jordan Brown
3B Wes Hodges
IF Jesus Marchand
1B Beau Mills
OF Stephen Head
LHP Jeremy Sowers (AAA)
C Wyatt Toregas (AAA)
P Greg Aquino
IF Michael Aubrey
OF Michael Brantley
OF Matt Laporta
P Kirk Saarloos
IF Andy Cannizaro
SP Aaron Laffey (AAA)
C Chris Gimenez (AAA)
RP Vinnie Chulk
C Damaso Espino
IF Tony Graffanino
RP Matt Herges
SS Wilson Valdez
3B Andy Marte

40 Man Roster


Rafael Betancourt
Fausto Carmona
Zach Jackson
Masahide Kobayashi
Aaron Laffey
Cliff Lee
Jensen Lewis
Scott Lewis
John Meloan
Adam Miller
Carl Pavano
Rafael Perez
Anthony Reyes
Hector Rondon
Rich Rundles
Juan Salas
Tony Sipp
Joe Smith
Jeremy Sowers
Jake Westbrook
Kerry Wood


Chris Giminez
Victor Martinez
Carlos Santana
Kelly Shoppach
Wyatt Toregas


Josh Barfield
Asdrubal Cabrera
Jamey Carroll
Mark DeRosa
Ryan Garko
Jhonny Peralta
Luis Valbuena


Shin-Soo Choo
Trevor Crowe
David Dellucci
Ben Francisco
Grady Sizemore

Designated Hitter

Travis Hafner

Opening Day Lineup:

CF: Grady Sizemore
3B: Mark DeRosa
1B: Victor Martinez
DH: Travis Hafner
SS: Jhonny Peralta
RF: Shin-Soo Choo
C: Kelly Shoppach
LF: Ben Francisco
2B: Asdrubal Cabrera

Bench: 1B Ryan Garko, IF Jamey Carroll, IF Josh Barfield, OF Trevor Crowe

Starters: Cliff Lee, Fausto Carmona, Carl Pavano, Scott Lewis, Anthony Reyes
Relief: LRP Zach Jackson, RP Masa Kobayashi, RP Rafael Betancourt, RP Jensen Lewis, RP Rafael Perez, RP Joe Smith, CP Kerry Wood

Disabled List: David Dellucci (15 day), Jake Westbrook (60 day)

No comments: